While there is wisdom in a lot of this, it's wisdom that is not unique to modular synthesis. There are more acoustic guitars collecting dust in closets than synths. Years ago, I worked in the MI business for a decade, and people constantly bought the wrong tool for what they were trying to achieve, so I get the point of this message. Here's the thing though, if you want to sound like Sonic Youth, Darkthrone, or My Bloody Valentine, you probably don't want to buy an acoustic guitar to learn on. Bang around on an electric, waste a lot of money on pedals and amps, and figure it out. You're not going to achieve that sound and workflow with a Martin D28. Similarly, if you want to make music like the YouTube generative coffee-mug-and-window-overlooking-a-peaceful-garden crowd, an MS20 isn't going to do that. Is that really the right instrument to start with, then? Man, I don't know.
People make amazing music by using instruments in the "wrong" way all the time. Just because you don't know what Boolean logic, half wave rectification, Euclidean rhythms, or even a VCA are right now, doesn't mean you shouldn't start the modular journey (you're going to have to learn about VCAs reeeeeeeaaaaaaaallllll quick, though). There is really no "right" way to use an instrument unless you are some purist gatekeeper. I worked around purists for years and they always sucked the joy right out of making music. They would scoff if you didn't pledge allegiance to some bulls**t Tubescreamer circuit from 1982 or didn't take the same musical journey they did. Ugh...